top of page

Honey we Made It!

We would wake up at 4:30 this morning to get down to the bay and catch our ferry back to the mainland. Some went to a bakery to grab some pastries for breakfast, but I didn't think I was awake enough A) to walk down there or B) to chew the breakfast that would be bought. Despite my thinking I wouldn't be able to walk the 300 feet away to the bakery shop, I did end up walking with the rest of the group just in fear of missing out on something but. My oh my was it incredibly hot in there though so I only stayed for maybe 2 minutes and walked back to the port.

When the ferry arrived, we put all of our luggage into their designated cubbies and then headed upstairs in hopes to fall back asleep. Instead, being the chatty girls we are, we all talked and reminisced on our adventures throughout the trip.

Finally, we made it back to Athens and were greeted by the same man and woman who brought us to the port originally. They would take us to the airport and we would board for our flight into JFK (NYC).

With a delay at baggage claim, our flight would in turn would also be delayed. On top of that, our plane was blocked by another plane that was loading passengers so that added some time to our wait at the airport. I guess it was a blessing in disguise though because gates kept changing due to the mix up in lost baggage so this allowed us the time to figure out which one we needed to go to. To this day, I'm still not sure what the holdup was or the reason for the continuous change in where our flight would board. However, looking back I'm glad we had the opportunity to just chill on the floor by our gate eating Wendy's and laughing together. We'd come a long way and gained some wonderful friends throughout this month adventure.

Once we finally made it onto the plane and eventually made it to Atlanta, it was close to midnight. Everyone parted ways and said quick goodbyes. It had been an exhausting day and everyone was ready to get some sleep after being up since 4:30 A.M. Thanks GCSU for this great experience and Craig Pascoe for putting up with us through the entirety of it. I'll forever remember this and couldn't have asked for a better group of people to go with.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page