top of page

Yianni's Taverna

Today we headed off to Kea. We would take a cab to from the hotel to the port where the Ferry would come pick us up. It was another miserably hot day and once when we finally made it to the island, I think everyone was relieved, especially after seeing the gorgeous place we'd be staying (Keos Hotel). It seriously looked like something out of a magazine; the view was pure bliss and I felt spoiled.

We were greeted with fresh lemonade and three different types of truffles (dark chocolate, white chocolate, and chocolate peanut butter). Then, everyone received their room assignments and were lead to what would be their new home for the rest of the trip. By this time, I was ready to hop in that beautifully inviting bed and take a nice power nap; the ferry had me not feeling so great. However, we had little time to get settled and situated before we would headed off for a walk through the main town to Liontas.

Little did we know, this walk was actually an educational hike above the village of Loulis. We took a bus up the mountain where we would have to make our way down to get to the place we'd be eating at tonight. My head was spinning after driving up all those bends and turns in the road and the heat wasn't helping, but we just arrived to this beautiful place and I wasn't going to let a measly headache kill the experience. Costas, our guide, host, and the husband of the woman who would later be giving us cooking lesson, explained the history, geography, and showed us the indigenous trees and other plants of the land. I wasn't prepared for this event but it was interesting and a learning experience. We had the opportunity to see some really neat areas that you might not have been able to find if you weren't with a long-time local including the Lion of Kea.

Along the hike, we made our way into this beautiful little cemetery with an old Greek Orthodox chapel on top. While others found the area to be eerie, I found the quietness peaceful and serene. On our way out of the cemetery, Costas told us about these little boxes that you'd find along the roads that looked like really oversized, fancy, mailboxes. They are meant as a memorial for those who have died and if you pass one, you're supposed to keep the light burning inside as a way of showing respect for those who have passed. All the necessary tools are kept inside the hut.

After finally making our way down the mountain, we would eat at Yianni's Taverna for supper. This was my least favorite meal that we would have in Kea. I didn't eat everything simply because I hadn't been feeling well all day. I think I was dehydrated and my ongoing headache made eating the last thing I wanted to do. I was now tired and ready to get a good night's sleep for a better day tomorrow.

Anyways, that of which I did eat included amaranth or what looked very similar to collard greens, a traditional greek salad, Greek sausage, and french fries. The greens were good and hearty, something you'd be able to make at home but not as bad for you as I'm sure it didn't have all the fattening ingredients we'd add to a good ole southern collard green dish. One other dishes that really made me a bit queasy was an egg, tomato, and pork innards plate. I did taste it just to satisfy Costas, who seemed very excited to have us try everything and give good feedback, however I did not approve.

That marked our first day in Kea, not what I'd pictured but something new for sure! I was hopeful that tomorrow would be more my speed with an opportunity to explore at our own pace and a more satisfying meal.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page